Lessons Learned from a Trip Up North

It has been awhile since I have written, and today I feel inspired to write about my trip up north.

My family has a cabin in northern Michigan, where I have spent a significant amount of time at over the years. For my entire life, I have always considered it to be one of my favorite places in the world. It is the perfect “escape” from reality. A quaint cabin on a beautiful lake, in a small town that most people have never heard of…Oscoda.

When I was younger, it was so easy to find time to go up north (I’d go whenever my parents wanted to go, haha). There wasn’t the issue of taking time off work, or having other adult responsibilities competing with my weekends. I have found that as I get older, I spend less and less time up north, and that makes me sad.

Last weekend was Memorial Weekend. For anyone who has a cabin, it is typically the kick-off to summer, and everyone and their brother seems to be headed up north. I was able to escape from the hustle and bustle of Southeast Michigan, to enjoy some quality time with my immediate family.

For some reason, this trip up north really meant a lot to me. Since I have moved out, I don’t have as many opportunities to hang out with just my parents, sister and of course Riley! Although there was nothing super elaborate about the trip, just being able to hang out, talk and laugh, tell stories, play games, etc. made me realize how important these moments in life really are.

Before moving out, I don’t want to say that I took these moments for granted, I just never really realized how much they meant to me.

I have an amazing family. Although we do not always see eye-to-eye on everything and sometimes have our disagreements and moments of tension, I would not trade them for anyone or anything in the world. They are always there to listen to me vent, to make me laugh, to give me advice, etc. Knowing that I always can rely on them, through the good times and the bad times, is a fulfilling feeling that only a family can provide.

So this short, but heart-felt article is dedicated to my Mom, Dad, Sarah and Riley. I love you all, and appreciate everything you do for me, big or small. I wouldn’t be where I am today without you all, and I truly feel blessed to have you in my life.

Brode Family Selfie!!

Brode Family Selfie!!

xoxo

What do you think?

