Finding My Faith

faith

Faith and religion have always been a part of my life.  I believe in God, the words in the Bible and the values of Christianity; I pray, I sin, I go  to church. However, for a long time I felt like I was just going through the motions.

Sure, I believed… but did I truly understand what it meant to have faith?

It wasn’t until recently that I began to grow in my faith and develop a real relationship with God.

“Never underestimate the power of prayer.”

People often resort to prayer in times of grievance, confusion and uncertainty. Personal struggles that I was faced with opened my eyes and my heart to the serenity that talking to God can bring.

I relied a lot on prayer to help me throughout my recovery and other hardships I was facing. I did not pray for my problems to go away… because praying and wishing for situations to just “disappear” would be impractical. Instead, I prayed for personal strength and courage to help overcome my struggles. I prayed for continued support and encouragement from my family and loved ones, who believed in me.

I figured that by praying for these things, I was in God’s hands. Ultimately, I would be a stronger person because of it.

I noticed that the more I prayed, the closer I felt to God. I felt a sense of security through times of uncertainty. Praying gave me hope for the future, and confidence that I was going to be ok. My strong relationship with God has not only helped me help myself, but has inspired me to be a better person to the world and others around me.

I pray several times a day. I pray for myself, for my loved ones, and anyone/everyone who needs faith and hope in their life…

to be continued…

What do you think?

